Time to Try Something New…

Welcome to Rebecca’s Classroom and Kitchen!  Fo me, this blog is definitely a new adventure.  Computers are not my forte–I don’t even have a personal Facebook page and I only sort of understand what a hashtag is, but adventure is good, so here goes nothing!
In honor of my first blog post, I decided to create a top 5 list of sorts. It will give you a little bit of insight into me and maybe inspire you a little too.  Without further ado:

 

Five Reasons to Try Something New…

1.  Because, as my mom always told me, how do you know you won’t like it if you never try.
Granted, she was usually talking about food at the dinner table, but I think it applies here as well.
2.  Because trying something new is a chance to share and build community. 
Anyone that knows me, knows that I have a lot of thoughts…and ideas…and opinions…and like to share…and, well, you get the idea.  A blog seems like a great way to reach others and let them in on some of these thoughts, opinions, and ideas.  This doesn’t just apply to a blog though.  In some ways teaching is such a solitary activity.  Though you have a classroom full of students, it can be very isolating because you are not necessarily connected to others in your profession.  Even the teacher next door can seem a million miles away.  If, though, we can make teaching a more communal activity, everyone benefits–the teachers who talk and share ideas, gain valuable insight, and collaborate to create the best educational environment possible, the students who get better teachers, better lessons, and a more positive environment in the classroom, and our society that gets better-prepared and more well-rounded young adults stepping out into the world.
3.  Because trying something new is a great way to share your passions and maybe find some new ones. 
I love education, I love cooking and baking, and once I get started, I really do enjoy writing. I figure blogging is kind of a perfect fit.
4.  Because new things challenge us and the only way to truly grow is by being challenged.
This applies to our students as well as ourselves as educators and as human beings. What’s good for the goose is good for the gander, and all that.  The whole blogging thing kind of scares me–I’ve had my entire blog set up just waiting for my first post for over six months now.  Being challenged is good for us though, and if my kids and my students need to be challenged, well then so do I.
5.  Because, on a practical note, my Teachers Pay Teachers store has almost a hundred products in it and while I am very proud of that, I figure it’s probably time for me to branch out. 
Add to that the fact that my mom (yep, moms offer all sorts of advice), who works in advertising, saw my Teachers Pay Teachers store the other day and said, you need to start marketing!  Well, okay…
So that’s my Top Five list.  Let’s talk a little about what you can look for in future blog posts.
What You Can Look for in Rebecca’s Classroom and Kitchen
  • Some sort of thoughts or musings:  On education, on life, on teaching, or on whatever else is currently inspiring me.
  • Journal questions for you and your students:  I find self-reflective journals to be particularly important.  They give us time to consider what we think and why we think it.  Even if you are not someone who likes to actually write, these questions are good to spend a little bit of time thinking about.  The ones for students make great bell work, extra time fillers, or discussion starters, and also give you a little bit of insight into your students.  Journaling is also a valuable opportunity for your students to have a chance to “talk” to you.
  • A little bit about one of my products:  If it’s relevant to your classroom, great and I hope you check it out, and if it’s not, well that is just fine too.
  • A recipe from my own kitchen:  These will probably be pretty eclectic since that’s kind of my cooking and baking style.  I cook from scratch, but don’t let that intimidate you if you are not and experience cook or baker.  Making good food is easier than you think, and like teaching, is often about the journey as much as the product.

I’ll start all these next time…the first recipe will be those jalapeño poppers pictured on the first page!

Also stay tuned for other fun stuff like linky parties, thoughts and ideas from other teachers, inspiration, and whatever else is on my mind and at least a little relevant.
Teach On!!!
Rebecca
P.S.  If you are curious or want to try something new yourself, check out my Teachers Pay Teachers store here!
Meet the family and me!
IMG_0486a
2 Comments Add yours

  1. Well done, Rebecca! Mom always knows best and you done good!

    Like

  2. Mrs. Kirk says:

    Love your top 5 reasons for trying something new! You are definitely off to a great start with your blog! Looking forward to reading more!

    Like

Leave a Reply

